Okay, so I lied. . .

5 Mar

Not too long ago, well okay – a month ago today, I wrote a post titled Traditional Turkish Cooking and talked about attempting to cook traditional foods everyday (or every other day).  Clearly, I lied.  I have made absolutely no effort, whatsoever, to cook Turkish foods.  I’m not entirely sure why.  I’m still very interested in attempting it but I’ve just been so side tracked by cooking with zucchini, quinoa and Asian vegetables and sauces that Turkish food just isn’t a priority.  So I am writing this as a reminder, mainly to myself, that I will attempt different recipes at least once a week.  I’m not promising any photographs or recipes, unless of course I succeed and am proud of what I’ve cooked.  Heck, I may not even mention I’ve attempted cooking something if it turns out absurdly awful.

There are two reasons why I may not even mention the failed attempts, should they happen.  Number one, I feel like I would be failing my ancestors should I fail.  I’d feel as though cooking certain foods should just come to me, naturally.  Yes, I do realize how crazy that sounds.  Try not to judge too harshly!  Number two, well, I’ll probably try the recipe again till I succeed, in which case I will go on to write about the win rather than the lose.  I’m a perfectionist and have a hard time giving up on things.  Especially things that I am passionate about.

As you can see, I’m trying not to give up on this.  Trying is the key word here :).

Sweet dreams, good morning, hello/goodbye.

-D

PS

The two tables I am refinishing (dining room table as well as coffee table) should be done within the next two weeks, I’m hoping.  I reiterate, I never thought refinishing was so tedious.  Stay tuned for pictures of all the refinishing projects!

Leave a Reply

